Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited and The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited take no responsibility for the contents of this announcement, make no representation as to its accuracy or completeness and expressly disclaim any liability whatsoever for any loss howsoever arising from or in reliance upon the whole or any part of the contents of this announcement.



## PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO THE ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION OF THE BANK

This announcement is made by The Bank of East Asia, Limited (the "**Bank**") pursuant to Rule 13.51(1) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "**Listing Rules**").

The Board of Directors of the Bank announces that a special resolution (the "**Special Resolution**") will be proposed at the upcoming Annual General Meeting of the Bank to be held on Friday, 9 May 2025 (the "**2025 AGM**") to amend the Articles of Association of the Bank (the "**Articles of Association**").

The Bank proposes certain amendments to the Articles of Association to tie in with the latest legal and regulatory requirements in relation to treasury shares and communication with shareholders by means of website, following the relevant forthcoming amendments to the Companies Ordinance (Chapter 622 of the Laws of Hong Kong) and the amendments to the Listing Rules which took effect on 11 June 2024.

The proposed amendments to the Articles of Association shall be subject to the passing of the Special Resolution by the Bank's shareholders (**"Shareholders"**) at the 2025 AGM. Details of the proposed amendments will be set out in the 2025 AGM Circular, which will be despatched to Shareholders in due course.

For and on behalf of The Bank of East Asia, Limited Alson LAW Chun-tak Company Secretary

Hong Kong, 20 February 2025

As at the date of this announcement, the Board of Directors of the Bank comprises Dr. the Hon. Sir David LI Kwok-po<sup>#</sup> (Executive Chairman), Professor Arthur LI Kwok-cheung\* (Deputy Chairman), Dr. Allan WONG Chi-yun\*\* (Deputy Chairman), Mr Aubrey LI Kwok-sing\*, Mr Winston LO Yau-lai\*, Mr Stephen Charles LI Kwok-sze\*, Mr Adrian David LI Man-kiu<sup>#</sup> (Co-Chief Executive), Mr Brian David LI Man-bun<sup>#</sup> (Co-Chief Executive), Dr. Daryl NG Winkong\*, Mr Masayuki OKU\*, Dr. the Hon. Rita FAN HSU Lai-tai\*\*, Mr Meocre LI Kwok-wing\*\*, Dr. the Hon. Henry TANG Ying-yen\*\*, Dr. Delman LEE\*\*, Mr William Junior Guilherme DOO\*\*, Dr. David MONG Tak-yeung\*\* and Dr. Francisco Javier SERRADO TREPAT\*.

- *#* Executive Director
- \* Non-executive Director
- \*\* Independent Non-executive Director